About Maribyrnong

The Division of Maribyrnong consists of:

  • Moonee Valley City Council,
  • part of the Brimbank City Council,
  • part of the Hume City Council
  • part of the Melbourne City Council, and
  • part of the Moreland City Council.

Named after the Maribyrnong River. The name 'Maribyrnong' is variously believed to be:

  • an Aboriginal word for 'yam' or 'edible root', or
  • derived from the Woiwaurrung word 'Mirrangbamurn', with 'mirrang' meaning eye and 'barmurn' meaning ringtail possum, or
  • from the traditional name 'Mareingalk', country belonging to the Mareinbulluc

You can check your current electoral enrolment via the AEC.